Thoughts on Marriage & Life Part I

Marriage is All about Jesus

I have spent much time researching what it means to be a man and a husband. I have read numerous books on being a good husband, marriage, family life, finances, discipline, time management, leadership, as well as reading biographies about the lives of those whom I feel I can learn from. I know I have a long ways to go before I make it, but I am trying. I have spent much time trying to put my thoughts, insights, and information I have learned into writing. As a result, I would like to share my thoughts with you over some future posts, in hopes that they may help you.

It seems that in our culture, marriage is being destroyed. It has become OK to put work above family. It has become OK to look at marriage and family from a self-centered light. It has become OK to “experiment” and try new things. It has become OK to walk away and get a divorce when things get hard. It has become OK to live our lives in such a way that degrades others, including our spouse and kids. What has happened in our culture? When did we become so self focused that we are willing to hurt those closest to us for what we want? Our lives will always include the ups and downs. In reality, life gives us bumps along the way. I know many people who have been on the verge of divorce, or who have been up to their eyeballs in debt, or put work above family. I kind of expect this in my non-Christian friends, but it’s shocking to see going through this along with them. Here’s my first thought.

#1 We have come to realize that each of us needs Jesus PERSONALLY!

If we are ever going to have a good marriage, family or balance in life, we need to realize this truth. I am always reminded of this when I take a moment to think about why Jesus had to die. He very easily could have said “you are all fine.” BUT, instead he came to die. Why? We get insight when we read Romans 5:12-21. We are all filthy, rotten sinners, and the only reason we could ever have the opportunity to live with our creator was through the death of Jesus Christ! Even Timothy realized he needed to know Jesus personally! (1 Tim. 1:15)

I have found it is difficult to have a good relationship with my wife, when my focus is off. Part of the reason Satan is able to pry, destroy, and ruin our marriages and families, is partly because we have lost our focus. The first thing, to having a good marriage, family, life, business, etc. is to realize we need Jesus personally.

JUST A THOUGHT:
I have never been all that great at spending quality time with God. I realize many of you (like me) are busy with life, and find it hard to make time for God. Yet isn’t this backwards? Shouldn’t time with our creator be top priority? I know that having quality time with God has helped me to realize that I need Jesus personally, because I’m a dirty, rotten sinner like everyone else (including my wife).
Take some time every morning to be in God’s word. I take 15 minutes after Jenn head’s off to classes before I leave for work to read Scripture. Here are some ideas I have found to work for me:
• I have been working through a book called Seek God for the City 2013: Forty Days to Palm Sunday. This was a fantastic experience.
• Read through Proverbs. There are 31 chapters in Proverbs, so I read the chapter that coincides with the day of the month it is.
• I have also picked up Devotional books such as the One Minute Bible for Students (You would be amazed at how practical Student stuff is to our adult life) Or My Utmost for His Highest by Oswald Chambers.

I hope you come to a place where you see that You Need Jesus PERSONALLY!

Leave a Reply

