Leadership Through Writing – Why I Write

Image

This week-end, someone asked me a question no one has ever asked me before. “Why do I write about “mobilizing others?” This is a great question. To be honest, I’ve never really taken the time to think about this; it is just something I’m passionate about. Helping people to be the best they can be, is what gets me going every day. It doesn’t matter if its ministry, speaking, or writing, I want EVERYONE to be the best they can be. I must admit that up until this question, I never really thought about why I am so passionate about mobilizing others.

I guess it all begins with a view I hold close and dear.

YOU WILL DO GREAT THINGS WITH YOUR LIFE!!!!!

I strongly believe that every single person on this planet is going to do great things. Sure, I know LOTS of people who don’t seem to be doing much of anything with their life, much less anything that is ‘GREAT.’ I was the same way. I spent many years trying to figure out what exactly I was here for. What was I going to do with my life? It wasn’t until I realize a CRUCIAL truth.

FIND YOUR “GREATNESS”

I can’t, and don’t hide the fact that I’m a Christian, nor do I have the desire to force others to become Christians. BUT, my religious views do impact my thinking. I believe every person, regardless of age, was designed to do something great with their lives. Some view greatness as wealth. Others view greatness as social life (having a family, etc). While I understand both of these, I view GREATNESS in a different way.

Greatness is when we are doing what we were designed to do. For some, this is raising kids, for others its writing, for others it donating money to for needy causes. Regardless of what your greatness is, one thing is necessary! The focus has to be on others!

I think of Mother Teresa as a great example. It doesn’t matter if you agree with her religious convictions or not, I can’t think of anyone who would say that Mother Teresa wasted her life. You see, she spent most of her days in countries helping the poor, reading to them, listening to them, playing with little children. She was outward focused.

I believe that YOU have a purpose, and that YOU are going to do GREAT THINGS with your life. That my friends, is why I write. That is the sole reason for Nextwithderek.wordpress.com. This is the reason I am so passionate about helping people. I have chosen to dedicate my life to helping people find their passions, desires, and skills, and helping to mobilize them to make a difference in their communities.

About Derek D. Dix

Derek is a youth advocate, writer, church partner, and speaker based in Sweet Home Oregon. Derek holds a Bachelor's degree in Ministry Leadership from Multnomah University (Portland, OR) as well as a Bachelor's degree in Bible/Theology from Multnomah University (Portland, OR). His training has equipped him to connect with youth, parents, and ministry organizations, in such a way that betters the society in which they find themselves. He currently is the Middle School Campus Life Director in Linn County. He is passionate about relational discipleship, leadership, and helping others to become active Christ-followers.

Posted on December 2, 2013, in Leadership. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

